Use quotes to search for exact phrases. Use AND/OR/NOT between keywords or phrases for more precise search results.

New Hampshire Unborn Child Protection from ‘Dismemberment Abortion’ Act (HB 1560)

This law was last updated on Jun 29, 2016

This law is Anti–Choice


New Hampshire


HB 1560


Failed to Pass


Dec 29, 2015


Co-sponsors: 6
Primary Sponsors: 1
Total Sponsors: 7


Dilation and Evacuation Bans

Full Bill Text

HB 1560 would prohibit a physician from performing a “dismemberment abortion” on an “unborn child” unless it was necessary to save the life of the pregnant woman or to avoid the substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function of the pregnant woman.

“Dismemberment abortion” is defined as “with the purpose of causing the death of an unborn child, knowingly dismembering a living unborn child and extracting such unborn child one piece at a time from the uterus through the use of clamps, grasping forceps, tongs, scissors, or similar instruments that, through the convergence of two rigid levers, slice, crush, or grasp a portion of the unborn child’s body in order to cut or rip it off.”

A physician that knowingly violates this provision could face injunctive relief and civil action.

Any person violating this provision would be guilty of a class B misdemeanor for a first offense.  For a second or subsequent offense, the person would be guilty of a class A felony.

No woman upon whom an abortion is performed or attempted to be performed would be liable for performing or attempting to perform a “dismemberment abortion.”

This law targets a procedure known as dilation and evacuation (D and E), which is frequently used during second-trimester abortions. According to the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, an abortion using suction aspiration can be performed up to 14 weeks’ gestation, but after 14 weeks the D and E procedure must be used to perform an abortion. As such, dilation and evacuation bans, depending upon their language, may ban all surgical abortion past 14 weeks’ gestation. (Source.)