Use quotes to search for exact phrases. Use AND/OR/NOT between keywords or phrases for more precise search results.

Michigan Sentencing Guidelines for ‘Fetal Heartbeat Protection Act’ (SB 358)

This law was last updated on Aug 20, 2019


This law is Anti–Choice

State

Michigan

Number

SB 358

Status

Proposed

Proposed

Jun 5, 2019

Sponsors

Co-sponsors: 4
Primary Sponsors: 1
Total Sponsors: 5

Topics

Heartbeat Bans, Informed Consent

Full Bill Text

www.legislature.mi.gov

SB 358 provides the sentencing guidelines for any violation of the “Fetal Heartbeat Protection Act.”

The bill would make it a Class F felony—punishable by up to four years in prison—to perform an abortion without first testing for a fetal heartbeat.

The bill would make it a Class C felony—punishable by up to 15 years in prison—to perform an abortion without first testing for a fetal heartbeat and the procedure results in the death of the pregnant person.

The bill would make it a Class G felony—punishable by up to two years in prison—to perform an abortion after detecting a fetal heartbeat without obtaining informed consent.

The bill would make it a Class D felony—punishable by up to six years in prison—to perform an abortion after detecting a fetal heartbeat without obtaining informed consent and the procedure results in the death of the pregnant person.

The bill would make it a Class F felony—punishable by up to four years in prison—to perform an abortion after detecting a fetal heartbeat.

The bill would make it a Class C felony—punishable by up to 15 years in prison—to perform an abortion after detecting a fetal heartbeat and the procedure results in the death of the pregnant person.


Related Legislation

Linked to SB 357, the “Fetal Heartbeat Protection Act.”


STATUS

6/5/19 – Introduced.


People